cooking · Sin categoría

Braided Pesto Bread

trenza11

This article may contain affiliate marketing links. I only recommend and write about things I love, so be sure you can trust what I write about.

Hello everyone! As I anticipated y’all in the facebook page, today I was able to work on this post about a beautiful nice looking bread that you can prepare for your Thanksgiving dinner. I was so busy last week with chores and work, but finally I was able to put this together for you.

I have discovered that i like pesto and bruschetta, it’s so tasty on crackers and thins, so when I found this Pesto bread recipe, I was very willing to try it, plus the additional beautifying element of the braided look that makes it look so fancy, but in fact it is so easy to do! I must confess that since I’ve got the kitchen aid, I have been trying pinterest recipes every week and I have found that sometimes bread is not that easy to prepare, but with the correct yeast and a good recipe you can be sure you can achieve great results. I will guide you step by step using a stand mixer, like the Kitchen Aid Artisan Stand Mixer I own.

Ok, so lets get started.

Ingredients for the dough

5 oz or 160 ml of whole milk

1 sachet of rapid rise yeast

1/2 tsp of sugar

10 1/2 oz or 300g all purpose flour

1 fl oz or 30 ml of oil

1 tsp of salt

Since I am more used to measure things in milliliters and grams but I am still waiting for my cooking scale to arrive, I measure the ounces with a little jar of baby food. It made my life easier, and don’t worry about the exact amounts, as long as you end up with a beautiful soft dough.

Ingredients for the filling

5 Tsp of delallo pesto

Grated parmesan cheese

Yields 5 servings

Instructions to prepare the dough

  1. Mix the yeast with the lukewarm milk and sugar until it is completely dissolved, pour it in a large bowl and stir in the flour, oil and salt. Knead to a smooth dough. In this step you can use the hook attachment and knead for 10 minutes or until you can pinch the dough and it goes back to it’s place.
  2. Cover your bowl with plastic wrap and a towel and let it sit for an hour in a warm environment. When i was preparing this recipe I also was cooking pinto beans in my slow cooker, so i just let the bowl sit next to the slow cooker for one hour.
  3. After one hour, your dough should have doubled in size. Punch it in the center and place it in a flat floured surface.
  4. Roll out the dough with a rolling pin to form a rectangle, about 16 X 8 inches.
  5. When you have your rectangle formed, spread the pesto over the dough leaving a 1/2 inch margin all around. Form a roll like you would when preparing cinnamon rolls. Follow the attached pictures.

6. Place your roll in a baking tray. Cut your roll in half, lenghtwise.

trenza4

7. Separate the two parts and turn them so the opening is facing up. trenza5

8. Braid the dough.

trenza6

I know I need to apologize for the blurry pictures but I was cooking and takes photos at the same time, so probably I touched the lens with an oily finger, 😛

9. Let your dough rise for the second time. It should take one more hour. What I like to do is warm the oven and turn it off, then place the baking pan inside, with the oven off for the hour, this way the yeast develops faster.

10. Take your baking pan out of the oven and preheat it to 180 Centigrades or 350 Fahrenheit.

10. Brush the top of the bread with some oil.

11. Bake your braided pesto bread for 20 minutes or until golden edges appear. Hint: when you start smelling bread, it’s ready.

TIP: You can brush a little extra pesto on top of the bred after baking, just to give it more flavor and a very attractive look.

You can visit the original recipe here.

3 thoughts on “Braided Pesto Bread

Leave a Reply

